CB Tuning

whytiptoe

So I spoke today to a local shop that installs all the cities police and fire radios. Spoke to him about installing my CB due to my work schedule, no a bad price in the install but I asked him about tuning the antenna if I installed it. He said that it's a waste of time and not needed. I don't see how this is possible sense every article says this needs to be done to ensure you do not damage the CB.

Last edited:

MattMc

I'm with you. I don't think he is correct. I am a Paramedic, and the radios on our ambulances are UHF, which is a whole different ball game and require FCC license. They still require an antenna though. But then again, everything I know about CBs I learned from the Internet, and we know how that goes.

Warebear

He said that an antenna is not needed? That doesn't make sense. Everything I have ever heard about CB radios, the antenna is the most important piece.

Flexy

King Retard
That doesn't sound right. In fact, I thought an SWR of 2.5 or greater could damage the CB. Before tuning, my CB had readings of 3.0+ on most of the channels.

whytiptoe

That doesn't sound right. In fact, I thought an SWR of 2.5 or greater could damage the CB. Before tuning, my CB had readings of 3.0+ on most of the channels.

That is my understanding as well, I'm just confused that the place that installs the police and fire in a good size city says it is not needed.

Warebear

It only takes a few minutes to tune, no reason not to. Even if it's not needed, better safe than sorry. I noticed a huge difference on mine before and after tuning it.

Me_The_people

Yeah definitely tune it. Mine has a built in swr meter. Cobra 29 Lx bt. They work fairly well. Follow the instructions for the radio but you shouldn't need to adj the antenna if the meter adj's. 9/10 They're close enough already. You need a open area and ten mins the first time around.

Stick