Air intakes and throttle body spacers

Tnjk

I have a 2011 4 door rubicon with the 3.8l and am looking for any advise on cold air intakes and throttle body spacers ! Are they worth the money when it comes to hp and gas mileage gains every little bit helps with the 3.8l ? Any advise and experience is appreciated!

BABOOZLE

Caught the Bug
I have a K&N CAI and the throttle response seemed a little better. MPG gains is hard to tell because I did so many upgrades over the course of two tanks of gas that I don't know the change in fuel mileage. The filter is fairly exposed and I worry about water when wheeling. I have the stock box and it only takes 10 minutes to reinstall. If I did it again I would just get a K&N filter for the stock box. ImageUploadedByWAYALIFE1457294538.992654.jpg

Honor2afault

Caught the Bug
I'm not a mechanic type, yet, but engines being what they are if you do something to the input ie. intake, you need to do something proportional to the output ie. exhaust, to truly benefit from added equipment. On the throttle body spacers, I have no idea. Happy wheeling

Honor2afault

Caught the Bug
I might also add that to get the best benefits afforded by such an upgrade, a programmer, like Superchips TD2 will help to maximize what potential said adds can give. Have a great Jeep day.

BABOOZLE

Caught the Bug
I have exhaust to match as well but the best upgrade was the Superchips flashpaq. Mainly because it changed the shift points.

WJCO

Meme King
Open air intakes can help with performance, but on a Jeep where you are around a lot of dust and water, it's not advisable. I only re-did mine because I had to relocate my washer bottle. I've had a K&N style system on every other vehicle I've ever owned and like them. Throttle body spacers don't do much in my opinion.

S_wall98

I haven't done exhaust but have the flashpaq and Mopar Cai. I didn't really set much from the cai but love the flashpaq, especially after messing with the shift points.