Gearing and axle question

Mikecal9985

Ok guys bare with me here. I'm pretty new to this whole jeep thing. I've owned my jeep for a couple years now and I'm still learning a lot. These may be dumb questions to some but I have no idea haha...

1) how do you know if you have a Dana 30 or Dana 44?

2) how can you tell what gears are being used?

3) what's a good gear set up for 35's?

Thanks for all the help guys.

zip04

1. ImageUploadedByWAYALIFE1458700851.937642.jpg

2. Jack the Jeep up, take the E-brake off and put it in neutral, as you spin the tire, count the revolutions of the drivetrain. Depending on the Jeep it will either be one or two complete turns of the wheel, but you will see the drivetrain spin the number of times that is equal to your gearing (I.e. slightly over 4 spins would be 4:11s)

3. Depends on your engine, transmission, etc. but 4:88 would likely be a good ratio to go with.

Mikecal9985

1. View attachment 194253

2. Jack the Jeep up, take the E-brake off and put it in neutral, as you spin the tire, count the revolutions of the drivetrain. Depending on the Jeep it will either be one or two complete turns of the wheel, but you will see the drivetrain spin the number of times that is equal to your gearing (I.e. slightly over 4 spins would be 4:11s)

3. Depends on your engine, transmission, etc. but 4:88 would likely be a good ratio to go with.

Wow thank you for all this info. I have a 2011 2 door automatic and I believe a 3.6

Mikecal9985

Use this link if you want to find more out about your build:

http://www.jeep.com/webselfservice/...ountry=us&emailUrl=goToEmailForm%28%27R%27%29

Then click on the link on the left where it says 'Equipment Listing.' Then when the page refreshes, enter your VIN in the middle and click the button. It should tell you your axle type but won't give you your gear ratio. If you don't have a Rubicon, you most likely have a 30 up front and a 44 in the rear.

WJCO, thanks for the link, I'll have to take a look at it