Is this normal ?

RedRum

So I installed my new poison spider Dana 44 diff cover and went this route because heard from a lot of people it has no clearance issues ... After I installed the front I noticed that it seems a bit small and doesn't cover the entire lip ??

I emailed psc but figured I would ask around while I wait for an answer ...

Is this normal ?
ImageUploadedByWAYALIFE1463664643.230697.jpg
Thanks
Matt

Last edited:

WJCO

Meme King
Looks fine to me. I can't remember if mine did the same, but it's better that it's a little smaller anyway, so it doesn't catch on stuff.

wayoflife

Administrator
Staff member
As mentioned, it's made that way on purpose and it's a good thing for the reasons noted.

RedRum

As mentioned, it's made that way on purpose and it's a good thing for the reasons noted.

Thank you I appreciate all the answers ! Since I'm very new at working on my jeep figured t couldn't hurt to ask ... While we are in the subject lol

I didn't reuse this bracket that holds a wire ( assuming for my locker ) it is zip tied but is there any better way to secure it ? Since I am running a lube locker gasket I didn't think this was a great idea to put back in
ImageUploadedByWAYALIFE1463674074.209243.jpg

Thanks again
Matt

rinkishjk

Thank you I appreciate all the answers ! Since I'm very new at working on my jeep figured t couldn't hurt to ask ... While we are in the subject lol

I didn't reuse this bracket that holds a wire ( assuming for my locker ) it is zip tied but is there any better way to secure it ? Since I am running a lube locker gasket I didn't think this was a great idea to put back in
View attachment 204072

Thanks again
Matt

That bracket goes between the bolt and the cover, not between the cover and diff housing.

RedRum

Yup well I'm an asshole ... I'll take full credit for the stupidity of that question ... Sorry for wasting your time appreciate it ( covers face with hand )

RedRum