Horrible with electronics... Need advice.

Prime8

Can someone help me out with backup light advice? I have the EVO tire carrier and therefore have no reverse lights. Can I run the stock backup lighting wire and a ground extension from the current taillights straight to a set of Rigid Duallys? Or will I need a resistor or something? I have a masters in engineering, but electronics stuff is humbling, as I am clueless...
Thank you in advance for the help.

MTG

Caught the Bug
I thought I read you need a resistor for the rigids or similar LED light due to the difference in power draw. But I don't even have a bachelors in engineering. ;)

JKAnimal

Caught the Bug
I know the Rigid Dually should only draw about one amp each so it's not a big power draw. I would honestly never tie into the jeep electrical. It's just bad practice and can make it hard to diagnose other electrical probs.

Skid_Kid

I was just talking with Eddie last night about this on here. I am going with a similar set up as his when I get my EVO tire carrier. I am going with Rigid's and running them into my switch panel. I am still trying to figure out if i can also wire them into the stock reverse wiring without a problem. I know people that have wired them into the fog wiring without resistors and have not had any issues.

Prime8

I was just talking with Eddie last night about this on here. I am going with a similar set up as his when I get my EVO tire carrier. I am going with Rigid's and running them into my switch panel. I am still trying to figure out if i can also wire them into the stock reverse wiring without a problem. I know people that have wired them into the fog wiring without resistors and have not had any issues.

Yeah. Switching them on/off every time I back up would be a pain, mostly because I'd forget.

supra_launch21v

You could always run the Jeep reverse light wiring to a relay and power the LED's separately.