What is the minimum under armor I should have

Eezybreezy08

Hey y'all, to make it short, I went riding at a new park this weekend and kinda got into some different type of trails than what I was used to. It was a lot more boulders than smooth hills. So i got a little worried about the undercarriage on my jeep and got me to thinking what is some of the, at least minimal things, I need to do to protect it. So please, I have no knowledge of this stuff, all suggestions welcomed.

OverlanderJK

Resident Smartass
I don't have a single aftermarket skid plate. No issues for the last 4 years. I have been thinking about getting an oil pan skid but not too concerned.

boardsurfer

There's already skids for the transfer case and gas tank down the passenger side of the jeep. Only thing really exposed is the transmission and oil pan. Keep the stockers, they will take a beating (as Eddie will attest) and add something for the other two. I'd recommend EVO or Rockhard. The RH will cover both bits in one piece of steel, while the EVO does it in two pieces.

lonewolf

You don't really need any skids, as all the important parts that are likely to get hit are protected by factory skids.

You could put a skid over the engine oil pan, but I'm yet to put a single scratch on mine in years, while the rest of the skids underneath are beat to hell.

Maybe install a couple of beefy diff covers, just in case.

However, make sure you have rock sliders, as you are guaranteed to damage that area on the 1st day you go through tight boulders.

Eezybreezy08

I appreciate it fellas. Last weekend was the first time I got into a lot of trails going over boulders one right after another, so I wasn't sure if it was something that I needed to be concerned about or not. I will at least look into the Evo oil pan skid. Appreciate it y'all

Drdiesel1

I have the EVO oil and and trans pan skids. They bolt on pretty easy, IMO.
I don't know if I actually need them, but I wanted to have something.