New JK Sport Build Advice Needed

Brett_JK

I've got a new 2016 JK Sport, manual trans I picked up a couple of weeks ago and I am (of course) itching to put bigger wheels and tires on it to get the look I want. As a side note...this is a weekend driver for me and I will be driving mostly on paved side roads and through a mid sized college town. I am not opposed to trying some things out with the local Jeep clubs, but I am thinking the total NoOb stuff will be all I want to mess with for the foreseeable future. (Who knows, I could end up getting hooked though hehe). I do love the look of 35s for sure, but I realize they come with a pretty hefty price tag. Any advice on where to start for the lifted / more rugged look? I hear all kinds of advice from "go with a 4" lift-you'll be glad you did!", to "you can get by with a 2.5" lift doing what I am doing. Ask 10 different people, get 10 different answers! It's mind boggling. If I am not mistaken higher lifts (like 3.5 and over) will require geometry correction, etc. among other things.

I've gotten one quote from a local shop for this JKS suspension for around $1800 installed. With a wheel and tire package, it would come in around 4k.

http://jksmfg.com/i-18879228-jspec-...-wrangler-jk-2-door.html?ref=category:1044773

Is this kit fine as it stands? Does it need more geometry correction than included? Again I have heard differing opinions from different sources so I am just trying to ask enough people to gain some kind of consensus....Thanks in advance and sorry if the post is a bit long!

Judesign

Caught the Bug
Hey welcome to wal. It sounds like for what you want to do a leveling kit and 33s would be plenty. I would also suggest going out and wheeling it to understand what it can do as it surprises many first timers.

Rottenbelly

I am running a leveling kit with cut fenders and 35s.
The factory bumstops actually are set up perfect with the leveling kit, it flexes ok and nothing rubs with my 3.5 inch backspace wheels.