Newby mistakes and help needed

Jim G

I am extremely new to the Jeep world and already making huge mistakes. Lol I guess that's how I learn best, it a life long issue. I picked up a '16 Rubicon and just couldn't wait to get a lift on it and slap on the 35" Nitto Trail Grapplers. I stopped by one of our local 4x4 shops (4wheel Parts) and the salesman talked me into purchasing a RE 3.5" lift (my fault for not doing more investigatating with regards to quality lifts). I have already picked up the Fox Adjustable CD shox as a hopeful remedy to the rough ride I keep hearing about. The kit is very basic, so it shouldn't be too bad by adding to the lift with quality parts to offset my had purchase decision. Definitely not the best way of building my rig, but it is what it is I guess.
Can anyone possibly help me out with what additional quality parts I should pick up to make this a quality moderate trail riding Jeep? i.e. drag links, adjustable control arms etc. and what brand/type should I seek out? And no, throwing it in the dumpster is not really a viable option.
Thank you for any help. Keep in mind, we have all made Newby mistakes, mine is just stupidity. Lol
I'll post pics later.
Thank you in advance....

Last edited:

JKRicky

First off, congrats on your new Jeep and welcome to WAL! You will learn a lot here so keep on reading.

Don't beat yourself up too much over your purchase. It is what it is and for most people, that lift will work just fine. Is it the best? No. Will it ride great? Maybe not. It will work though.

The kits can vary as far as what they come with so more info as far as what you have already will help.

Jim G

First off, congrats on your new Jeep and welcome to WAL! You will learn a lot here so keep on reading.

Don't beat yourself up too much over your purchase. It is what it is and for most people, that lift will work just fine. Is it the best? No. Will it ride great? Maybe not. It will work though.