Best Severe Weather Tire for Lifted 2door JK?

BessieII

Hi all,

I can't really find a lot about this and I know its sort of a lift + tire question but I'm up against a rock and a hard place here! I work in a hospital and there is no such thing as "state of emergency" for me. That being said I live in NJ and have had to ride through several inches to feet of snow from time to time. I have a 2013 JKR 10a with 4.10 gears manual tran, the original BFG KM2s are ready to be replaced. I'm going to be installing a 2.5 inch Metalcloak lift (rocksport shocks), steering stabilizer and exhaust brackets. I'll likely be going with new wheels (mickey thompson classic IIIs). I've come across several tire options but only a few are severe weather rated. I've gone back and forth between 315/70r17 and 295/70r17 more times than I want to admit unfortunately. I know the 315s will look badass on the jeep but I really do not want it to be a dog on the highways.

If I go 315s I'm stuck between:

BFG KO2 and Goodyear Duratracs (Both severe weather rated tires)

If I go 295s I'm stuck between:

BFG KO2, Goodyear Duratracs and Mickey Thompson ATZ P3 (not severe weather rated)

A bit about me:

My jeep right now is my daily driver, when I do wheel I like to go to places like Rausch Creek in PA and Poe Valley in PA. I love going through the mud but mostly love going down jeep trails in PA which tend to be rocky narrow paths.

Thanks for helping out a healthcare person in need guys and gals! Feel free to flame me if you feel like this question has been answered before I just cant find it. ;)

John:thankyou:

Last edited:

rogerk93

Hi all,