Take my jeep in for a tick

Jeepnoub

Well as the title says, I'm bringing my 2016 jku for a ticking to the dealership. It was something I noticed after my first oil change at 5k miles. I am now just over 8k miles. The noise is coming from the drive side valve train.

At first the noise would just happen at cold start up. But it seems to have become more of a constant sound and being loudest at startup. I haven't at it much other then tracking where the noise is coming from.

Being I was a motorcycle mechanic for years at a dealership. I know for a fact this noise is not normal and is new. But I don't want to get jacked around at the dealer. The way we handled warranty customers at the motorcycle dealer is completely different from my experiences with car dealers. Any advice is appreciated. I will update as well, when I can. I would like to look at it more this week, but I work alot and have a 3 year old.

WJCO

Meme King
Have you kept up on your maintenance and have records? That can play a role. But being a 2016, I'm guessing you don't have a lot of miles on it?

EDIT: NVM, I skimmed over that part of the post. Shouldn't be a factor.

Jeepnoub

Have you kept up on your maintenance and have records? That can play a role. But being a 2016, I'm guessing you don't have a lot of miles on it?

EDIT: NVM, I skimmed over that part of the post. Shouldn't be a factor.
I just don't want them to tell me to drive it until failure

WJCO

Meme King
I just don't want them to tell me to drive it until failure

If it's ticking like that at that low of mileage, it already is a failure. Make sure they know that. And you're not talking about the normal ticking that fuel injectors make right? It's a valve train noise for sure?

Jeepnoub

If it's ticking like that at that low of mileage, it already is a failure. Make sure they know that. And you're not talking about the normal ticking that fuel injectors make right? It's a valve train noise for sure?