Things you've done to make your JK safer!!!

Mikecal9985

Well guys, looks like my family is going to be growing by one!!! My wife and I found out we are having our first child!! Now, we all know Jeeps aren't the safest 4x4 out on the road. I was wondering what are some things we could do to toughen up and make our Jeeps safer. I drive a 2011 2dr and my wife has a 2009 JKU. Any input and pics would be highly appreciated!!!

Sent from my iPhone using WAYALIFE mobile app

WJCO

Meme King
Congrats on the new kid. I've seen some nasty hits to solid steel bumpers and sliders where the Jeep came out better than the other car by having the added protection. However, I've also heard theories that when you strengthen the outside of the vehicle with stronger steel, the passengers absorb the force instead of the vehicle absorbing it. I'm not an engineer, so I don't know, but the people I know lived to tell the story and were happy they had the extra protection.

tgoss

Most important thing I've done is brakes and headlamps. After that to protect myself an evo sport cage.

BananaJeep

Caught the Bug
Rockhard makes a great product. If you're serious about protection, and want to be able to install it in your driveway, the Rockhard sport cage is the way to go IMO. I installed mine in about three hours, taking my time. I had it powder coated to match the yellow of my Jeep (it almost 100% matches :().

The great thing is you can add more pieces depending where you want maximum protection, and save money elsewhere. For example, I don't have a wife or kids, so the back seat is all just the stock cage. However, if in the future I have kids or start taking people off-road, I can buy the rear cage pieces to stiffen it up.

Sadly I'm at work and can't go out to take pictures, but this is the best picture I have of the cage right now.

14329897_10211016601429783_8527881525879578683_n.jpg

Last edited:

GraniteCrystal

Congrats on the kid!