EVO bolt on coilovers VS plushride + King 2.5 adj VS. Front coil overs only?

zimm

Caught the Bug
I'm just not happy with how the Fox 2.0 IPF shocks are working with the EVO 3" plushrides that I recently installed. I can't put my finger on it, but I don't like the dampening. I get a lot of roll when quickly transitioning left to right, and wallow when running over undulating pavement.

I'm faced with dropping $2k for King 2.5" adjustable shocks to dial it in.

Or with that much investment, would it make more sense to jump to the bolt on coilovers? Or coil overs up front, and run the king 2.5" shock in the rear? That would be cheaper and I wouldn't have to worry about a rock taking out the vulnerable coilover.

I am concerned about noise with the coilovers. I'm a daily driver and run 95% street. I do go off-roading every month or two. I also tow a camper. I'm happy with the spring rate in the rear for handling the camper, but if I go coilover back there, I'll need to go with the heavier spring from what I read on the forum here.

I'm happy with my off-road performance, but what will do better on the street?

Finally, I'm running AEV wheels which are something like 5" backspace, so maybe the coilover won't work anyway if the tires will eat them.

wayoflife

Administrator
Staff member
If you're not already running a drag link flip/track bar relocation bracket, I might start there instead.

zimm

Caught the Bug
If you're not already running a drag link flip/track bar relocation bracket, I might start there instead.

Already got the EVO flip. It really tightened up the steering and makes highway tracking much better. I just want to solve the rolley-polly feeling.

GraniteCrystal

Wouldn't the rolley-polly feeling be more a function of springs that shocks? I'd hate to see you drop that amount of $ on King shocks and still have the same feeling due to how the plush rides are handling

aermotor