ARB lines

jeffj

Caught the Bug
I just unhooked my air lines and going to install some braided steel lines. I'm new to the air locker and have a question. When I unhooked the rear at the axel there was a little gear oil that came out of the line. Is that normal?

Sent from my iPhone using WAYALIFE mobile app

wayoflife

Administrator
Staff member
Yeah, it's normal in that it happens but no in the sense that it shouldn't. If you've been running synthetic gear oil in your diff, the o-ring in the locker will develop a leak and allow gear oil to pump back up and out of the air line. It's not that big of a deal though.

jeffj

Caught the Bug
Ok, great. Thanks for the feedback. I was going through the guys build thread and he did use royal purple when he changed it. He only put 5000 miles on it, but it's been in there over a year. Do you think I should change it?

wayoflife

Administrator
Staff member
Ok, great. Thanks for the feedback. I was going through the guys build thread and he did use royal purple when he changed it. He only put 5000 miles on it, but it's been in there over a year. Do you think I should change it?

Yeah, Royal Purple is synthetic and more than likely the reason why you have the leak now. Rookie mistake especially when you'd think running synthetic is a good idea. Being that you already have a leak, I wouldn't worry about it. Just be aware as you use your lockers, you will have gear oil that will spit out of your solenoid - again, not that big of a deal. Depending on how much you use your locker, the gear oil can fill the line and can interfere with the engagement of the locker. If that occurs, you can simply turn your switch on and off a few times and the compressor will eventually push the fluid back into the diff and allow the locker to engage.

onbelay

Good to know about not using synthetic.

Sent from my iPad using WAYALIFE mobile app

You're not supposed to run conventional that contains LSD additives either.