New to the site

Ixion

Hey gang.

I'm a 40 something guy out of the state of MD. I work in IT and have for 21 years. I think I went a little long on my intro but I'm excited to be here. Sorry. :)

I got started on my Jeep quest in 1996. I was less drunk of the two of us so my friend let me drive us home. Along the way, we passed another Wrangler driver who did wave at me. I figured, I don't know that dude so I kept driving. Out of nowhere, my friend asks if that guy that passed us wave? I said yeah, did you know him? He asked if I waved back and I told him no as I didn't know that guy. Long story short, he went nuclear and had me pull over and then tirades the remaining distance to his house about Jeep etiquette. It caught my interest but I thought he was overreacting so I went on with life.

My friend frequently went to London for work, so I'd alternate driving his Jeep and my truck. He had a soft top and it was in January so I froze most of the time. But, when I passed folks in the Jeep I waved and they'd all wave back. I'd be stuck at the gas station trying to figure out how to put gas in the Jeep. I forgot about the tank being behind the license plate so I'm standing at the pump looking bewildered. A random guy comes over and starts up a conversation and then asks if I'm done with filling up. I half halfheartedly laughed and commented I have no idea how to even find the gas cap. He asks, "Stolen or borrowed?" Borrowed and showed him the keys. He gets a laugh and shows me to my embarrassment where the gas cap was. After everything was said an done, he asked me if I wanted to hang out with some other Jeep "borrowers". He hopped in "my" Jeep and I followed his buddies in theirs out to a bonfire and a GREAT time was had. They would track me down a couple more times that year to hang out and I started to get the feeling that this Jeep life is something I wanted.