Motor mount repair

GraniteCrystal

1) could I replace mine with a used one that appears to be in good shape or is that a bad idea?
2) How difficult is it to replace? Anybody done this before? Got pics? Any special tools needed?

It's the passenger side on a 2014 JKUR

fiend

Caught the Bug
A new motor mount is 90 bucks. Maybe you save a few bucks going used, but not enough to make it worthwhile.

As far as replacement, I have not done one on a JKU. I have done them on other cars and recall that you can just lift tilt the engine enough with a jack or hoist to slip the old one out and a new one in. If you have the tools, a few buddies, and are mechanically inclined, go for it.

Sent from my iPhone using WAYALIFE mobile app

VeruGE*144

Caught the Bug
Depending on the price, I would maybe opt for a new one.
As far as doing the job I have no experience, but WJCO might have a point with using your oil pan skid as a surface for holding the engine up.

WJCO

Meme King
Take a picture of the mount in question and post it. I don't recall if I've done one one a 3.6, but most motor mounts are the same, pretty straight forward job. And I would go new.

GraniteCrystal

A new motor mount is 90 bucks. Maybe you save a few bucks going used, but not enough to make it worthwhile.

As far as replacement, I have not done one on a JKU. I have done them on other cars and recall that you can just lift tilt the engine enough with a jack or hoist to slip the old one out and a new one in. If you have the tools, a few buddies, and are mechanically inclined, go for it.

What's your source? I'd love to get it for that price but dealer is quoting me almost $300 for it.

f14framer

IMG_1398.JPG IMG_1397.JPG
Looks pretty easy. Just crawled under mine and it looks like 4 bolts holding it to the block and one that goes through other end of mount and the frame, pretty standard.

GraniteCrystal

Less than $80: