Flat Towing Setup for a JK

Blackhawkip

I did this awhile ago but thought it may be useful to those who are considering flat towing their Jeep. I've had it on now for over 3 years and ~5000 miles. I have a 2011 32' Class C and a 2013 Rubicon. I spent countless hours scouring every website while trying to figure out the best way to tow my Jeep. My immediate need was to tow it from Kentucky to California for a move which would be over 2100 miles.
I did not like the look of the base plates that reduced the approach angle of the Jeep while 4-wheeling. I also wanted a complete system that included a brake and light system.
This is what I ended put buying and installing myself. I am not a mechanic but am smart enough to know the correct end of a wrench that goes on the bolt. The following is what I purchased:
1-Currie Base plate-part number CE-9033JK
2-ReadyBrute Baseplate Mounting Ends Blue Ox Clevis (S511-940445)
3-JK Tow harness Deluxe Kit
4-Ready-Brute Elite Tow bar
5-Roadmaster 10K 8" Drop receiver
6-Receiver lock bracket

2014-04-27 11.44.33.jpg

Last edited:

Blackhawkip

A picture showing how well the Currie plate is tucked into the factory bumper. I currently run the AEV front bumper and it works just as well.

2014-04-18 09.41.27.jpg

IMG_0068.jpeg

Last edited:

Blackhawkip

This shows where I entered into the frame rail from he left rear corner where the harness plugs into the factory harness.

2014-04-18 09.39.07.jpg

Last edited:

Blackhawkip

I kept the wire bundle inside the frame rail to the front left wheel where I pulled it out through a factory opening.

2014-04-18 09.40.03.jpg

Last edited:

Blackhawkip

I zip tied the wire bundle to the factory brake lines on the top of the front left tire frame rail. I then ran the bundle to come out behind the currie plate.

2014-04-18 09.39.25.jpg

Last edited:

Blackhawkip