Wheel size 15's vs 17's?

Ctowns

Can someone help me understand the pro's or con's when considering wheel size?

I'm currently running 285x70x17 Duratracs on the stock JK wheels with no lift. I've been running them this way for about 2 years, but they do rub at full lock and are also very tight on the stock tire carrier & teraflex CB antenna mount. I was thinking about putting on a set of spacers but Discount tire where I purchased the Duratracs said if I put spacers on they will refuse to do the rotations going forward due to company policy and that I would need new wheels to address the rubbing.

I've left them as is for now and just try to avoid very tight turns but I'm starting into my build and seeing that some of the lifts require proper back spacing or spacers so it has me looking into which direction I should go.

If I stay with the 17's it seems that the tires will generally be more expensive (my 17" Duratracs were ~$1500 for a set of 5 tires installed). Just doing a little poking around I have found some deals where I can get into 15" MB 72s and tires mounted for about that same price which means less $$ on tires in the future. Cost is a driving factor for me so the 15's are looking appealing.

From the reading I've done here's what I've found (please confirm/deny if I'm off track).

15" Pro's
lower Cost
More sidewall for grip
weight (supposedly my 17" 33's weight more than a 15" 35 on MB72's?)

15" Con's
more on-road wander due to sidewall size
caliper clearance
heat issues? (ive read that the 15's don't allow enough space for the caliper and rotor to adequately cool?)
limited larger tire sizes? (well maybe not all larger sizes but 35's seem limited)

Thanks

Lpaine2005