Cleaning out differential

Bwdesignworks

Ok guys, I'm new to the forum and I'm sure this may seem like a simple and dumb question. I'm looking for a little direction on this. I just recently had 4:88 gears installed and have hit the 500 mile mark on them. I need to change out the diff fluid and would rather do it myself than take it to the local shop. While I'm not a master mechanic I do have the tools and some knowledge to tackle some jobs. I've seen a few videos and read a few post and it looks pretty basic. Is there any specific brand and or type of fluid or gasket sealant that I should use? Do you recommend cleaning the gears off with brake cleaner or just inspect the to see how they are paired together? Also do I need to let the gasket sealant set for any amount of time before I drive after everything is cleaned out and refilled?

Thanks,
Bryon

Clutch

Caught the Bug
I'd have the shop that put the gears in do it, so they can determine if the oil looks the way it should. I would think this should be a free service (as part of the gear change). With that said it is a pretty simple job.

Sent from my iPhone using WAYALIFE mobile app

Bwdesignworks

I'd have the shop that put the gears in do it, so they can determine if the oil looks the way it should. I would think this should be a free service (as part of the gear change). With that said it is a pretty simple job.

I asked the shop that did the install and was told it is an additional charge. About two hours worth of labor charges plus materials so that would be another couple hundred bucks. Would rather put that money towards my next purchase.

WJCO

Meme King
Do it yourself. Use RightStuff One Minute Gasket rtv. It cures quickly. I have found that it takes about one beer to set up and then just add fluid. As far as fluid, just stick with conventional gear oil unless you have a LSD carrier. And if you're running an ARB locker, do not use synthetic fluid.

Andy5160

Hooked