Oil leak

Gbint

So the other day I was entering a highway and was required to accelerate hard, 2nd gear up to about 6,000 rpm. Probably for the second time in the 60,000 kilometre life so far. Later that day I could smell what seemed like oil burning on the exhaust. Sure enough there was oil on the cross over and around the manual transmission. Washed the area off with brake cleaner and see what happens. I’m perplexed as I can’t find the source. I’ve been a master auto mechanic for 40 years( training always current) and I’m just wondering if anyone has seen this on 3.6 JK’s

Sent from my iPhone using WAYALIFE mobile app

jorgelrod

Hooked
I was about to post a new thread. I had my oil change two weeks ago, today I drove from Jacksonville to Orlando, a good 150 miles and when I came out about an hour later after we arrived to Orlando I noticed oil under the jeep. It's dripping from the sides of the tranny into the crossmember and into the ground. It engine oil, it's not tranny fluid so I'm at a loss as to where it might be coming from.

I was about to post a new thread. I had my oil change two weeks ago, today I drove from Jacksonville to Orlando, a good 150 miles and when I came out about an hour later after we arrived to Orlando I noticed oil under the jeep. It's dripping from the sides of the tranny into the crossmember and into the ground. It engine oil, it's not tranny fluid so I'm at a loss as to where it might be coming from.
Have a look at the oil filter housing on top of the motor. There's been threads about over tightening the plastic cap that cracks the plastic housing, and causing oil leaks.

Look past the filter, there's a vally see if you have oil accumulating down there.

If I recall 2014 was one of the worst years for this.

Best of luck to find the source of the leak.

DMF

Have a look at the oil filter housing on top of the motor. There's been threads about over tightening the plastic cap that cracks the plastic housing, and causing oil leaks.