Garage Door Opener Mod

10frank9

Web Wheeler
Greetings Wayalifers,

Some of you asked in the "What was Done To Your Rig This Week" thread about my garage door opener mod. The purpose of this mod for me was to hide my garage door opener so that if you park your rig outside it is not as noticeable especially for those of us who run topless and doorless for most of the year.

I am posting this write up as a guide to help you guys do this mod if you choose to. I am no electrician and as you can see by my primitive soldering skills I like things to be functional not always pretty.

First off I bought a push button/ momentary switch with two wires. I actually found vendor on eBay that sold me five of them for .99 plus shipping.

ImageUploadedByWAYALIFE1361737129.567664.jpg

I cut the plug off one end and stripped the insulation off to expose the wires.

I removed the cover for my garage door opener and located the button which controls the open/close function.
ImageUploadedByWAYALIFE1361737051.583679.jpg

I flipped it over and on my control noticed the button had four points of contact on the board, with a pair of each on a separate circuit.

ImageUploadedByWAYALIFE1361737109.557126.jpg

I soldered one wire on one lead for each pair on the circuit. I only staggered them to spread them out a bit.
ImageUploadedByWAYALIFE1361737293.961569.jpg ImageUploadedByWAYALIFE1361737109.557126.jpg

I then cut out a portion of the plastic cover to leave room for the cord when I close the cover. (Crude notch)
ImageUploadedByWAYALIFE1361737444.080244.jpg

After closing the cover I removed the panel underneath the steering wheel to find a good mounting point for the opener case. This worked well for me I just attached it with 3M two sided tape.
ImageUploadedByWAYALIFE1361737581.277031.jpg

I had tried mounting it to the back of the panel first and had a problem adjusting my steering wheel up and down. Which is why I stuck with the mounting location above. Zero issues with function or fit.