Shock install

Mikecal9985

So I just bought some Rancho5000xl and was wondering how hard it is to install a set of shocks? I’ve watched a bunch of YouTube videos and it seems pretty straight forward. I also searched the google box and found the torque settings for all the bolts. I don’t know why but since it has to do with the suspension, it scares me a little to do it myself. I have all the tools needed to do it. What do you guys think?

Sent from my iPhone using WAYALIFE mobile app

-AINOKEA-

Hooked
That’s probably the easiest part of the suspension to change. I’ve never done it before last week but it was incredibly easy. Remember the shock can compress to give you room to maneuver it around where it needs to be. For me, I just soft mounted the top and moved it around until I got the lower bolts lined up, then torqued it all down.

Zevulin

Like the previous post reads, it’s pretty much straightforward, you shouldn’t have any problems, go for it and you’ll be glad ya did![emoji631]

jeeeep

Hooked
No need to jack up the Jeep right? Just go one by one

I find it easier to raise the Jeep at the frame, place some jack stands under the frame and use the jack to raise and lower the axle as needed.

You'll find the shock shaft extends pretty quick once you remove the binding strap.

It's easier to install when you can move the axle end up and down (don't over-stretch your brake lines etc.) versus having the Jeep on the ground.

I've got a 3.5" lift and have done it with the Jeep on the ground by getting the shock in place before cutting the strap.

But, miss the shock lower mount while the shock is decompressing and it'll take a little grunt to get it into place.

It's a lot easier than I make it sound.

Do it yourself, you'll be glad you did.

DeJkUnlimited

Caught the Bug