2016 JKUR Pinion Play - can I just tighten it?

drrags

I went to San Diego last week on vacation and I figured that while I was there I'd re-gear my Rubicon. I had a shop install 4.88 gears and chromoly rear axles. I drove around, did some heat cycles and eventually headed home to Reno. On the drive home I could hear a whine, kind of like the open-door chime, but continuous. When I let off the throttle the whine would cease, add throttle and it would return. When I got home I crawled under the Jeep and checked for play at the pinion. I got what I estimate 1/16" in and out, and about the same up and down.

I have no experience with rear ends, so I'm unsure of what to do next. Do I:
* Attach a 10 foot cheater to my breaker bar and try to tighten it? Looking at parts diagrams, it doesn't look like doing that changes the gear pattern/setup. Could it really be that simple?
* Take another vacation and let the shop have a go at it? I'm fine with that because there's nice wheeling down there, and the repair or whatever is covered by the shop. Or, is it a bad idea to put another 500 miles on it?
* Take it to a shop in Reno and pay out of my pocket? The shop said that they'd reimburse the cost. Trouble is, I don't know where to take it in Reno. It seems like this should be the way to go, since I'm parking it until I figure out what to do.

Thanks for any help or guidance :)

fiend

Caught the Bug
It definitely should not be loose like that. The shop that did the work should either fix it or pay to have someone else fix it. I would focus on those options. If you try to fix it yourself, the shop will disclaim any obligation to deal with it.

A.J.

It definitely should not be loose like that. The shop that did the work should either fix it or pay to have someone else fix it. I would focus on those options. If you try to fix it yourself, the shop will disclaim any obligation to deal with it.