Strongest skid plates

rockwell

After 2 seasons of wheeling my Rockhard engine skid is crushed enough that it should be replaced soon. I do like the skid but I need to find something a little stronger. Is there anything out there a little thicker or more resistant to bowing in?

Sent from my iPhone using WAYALIFE mobile app

wayoflife

Administrator
Staff member
After 2 seasons of wheeling my Rockhard engine skid is crushed enough that it should be replaced soon. I do like the skid but I need to find something a little stronger. Is there anything out there a little thicker or more resistant to bowing in?

Clearly, I'm not playing hard enough. Hell, I don't even have an engine skid on Moby.

Coop

Caught the Bug
I must say I have to agree with Eddie and I-Eat-Mud. The MORE engine skid I’ve been running for the last three years is pretty much scratch free. It’s more of a mud shelf.

rubiDave

I've got the same skid and there are no scracthes on it around the oil pan. I did have one low speed belly crawl that put a significant dent near the exhaust cross over and tweaked the extension that bolts to the driver side frame - amazing how easily the 3/16 steel bends. From the looks of it the Jeep probably would have survived just fine without the skid and money could have been better spent being put towards a lift for more clearance.
20180312_134143.jpeg
20180312_133105.jpeg

Sent from my SM-G900V using WAYALIFE mobile app

salXK

Is there a list of recommended skids to have or a minimum to have installed. I haven’t even looked under my Jeep yet to see what came with it.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

wayoflife

Administrator
Staff member
Is there a list of recommended skids to have or a minimum to have installed. I haven’t even looked under my Jeep yet to see what came with it.