Welder good for c-gussets

Jsouder53

Hooked
I’ve never owned a welder, never used a welder, never thought about welding anything until I received a quote for having my c-gussets installed (along with ball joints and inner seals) for $1000. Now I’m thinking about purchasing a welder (and ball joint press) with that $1000 and installing it myself.

My questions to anyone who welds is: what would be a good welder to purchase? Is there a certain kind? Are there different size welders and which size is better for my application? Or how about a trail welder?

Sent from my iPhone using WAYALIFE mobile app

Bierpower

Hooked
The first question is going to be what you have available for power. If your restricted to a regular wall outlet (120V 30 amp) your pretty much limited to a max 140 amp welder. If you have 220 available (the big ass plug most cloths dryers use) your options are much more vast. I'm not an expert on the matter but this is a good place to start.

Sent from my Pixel 2 XL using WAYALIFE mobile app

Jsouder53

Hooked
The first question is going to be what you have available for power. If your restricted to a regular wall outlet (120V 30 amp) your pretty much limited to a max 140 amp welder. If you have 220 available (the big ass plug most cloths dryers use) your options are much more vast. I'm not an expert on the matter but this is a good place to start.

I do have a stove outlet 5 feet from my back door [emoji23]

QuicksilverJK

Caught the Bug
You should be able to find a much better price for the labor. And if done carefully you do not have to press the ball joints ( although you have to be very careful to not overheat them) or replace the seals unless they are leaking.