Please help with choosing lockers for my needs...

TxCoastie

Hi friends.

Im upgrading gears from my 3.73 to 4.56. I run 33's but wanted the option for 35's if needed down the road. My 2013 JKU is the automatic oscar mike edition with the 27-spline dana 30 front and 30-spline dana 44 rear.

Im not hardcore rockcrawling but use my rig as a dd and as an overlanding vehicle and would like to venture more into moderate to heavy trails (utah, nevada etc.) without being towed out each trip. Nothing extreme but want to be able access most trails in my rig.

That being said can you help me narrow down my options regarding lockers? Detroit trutac for the dana 30 seems highly recommended but what about the dana 44 for the rear?

I would like to have the locker set purchased under $1500 if possible.

Direct links much appreciated as Im a Veteran with a TBI.

Thanks for all of your knowledge from this forum.

Last edited:

Torrin

Honestly, I wouldn't spend any money on the Dana 30. It really is a bad option for 35's. If you haven't committed to the gears yet, I would wait and try to find a used D44 front axle for a decent price and then do the regear then. If you have already committed to regearing, I would skip the lockers for now as you might want to think about upgrading the rear axles to 35 splines at some point.

Thank you for your service.

fiend

Caught the Bug
I would skip locking the front. The Dana 30 is weak and the locker will not help. Based on your description, you’ll probably not need two lockers anyway. Save the money for a winch.

Lock the rear with something like the Eaton locker (link below). Less than $1000. An ARB would be nice too, but would be more expensive because you’d need to buy a compressor.

https://www.quadratec.com/products/16100_1016.htm

Sent from my iPhone using WAYALIFE mobile app

Last edited:

TxCoastie

Thank you. So if I go with ARB would this setup suffice plus beefing up the rear axles?

Attachments