Maintenance order of operations

Boudica

Hi all. Fair warning, this is going to be a very noob question (after a lengthy explanation).

I've got a '14 JK Sport (6 speed manual transmission) that is now out of warranty and paid for. So in addition to now spending that money "saved" every month on new upgrades :)D), I want to take over the maintenance as well. But, because I am pretty new at working on cars- I've really only ever done an occasional oil change on my Cherokee years ago- my default process is to take things slowly. The problem: my shifting has been feeling a little rough for the past month and according to the owner's manual it's time for differential fluid and overdue for both t-case fluid change and transmission fluid change.

In case I run into problems and to not have to triage three different possible causes, would it be better to change these one at a time, drive for a few days, and then tackle the next? If so, what would be the best order of operations?

Or, alternatively, am I just really overthinking this and just need to be told to get on with the jobs- it's not that big of a deal?

Thanks in advance for any advice and/or kick in the pants!

jesse3638

Hooked
Personally I'd just change them all at once. I wouldn't want to pull tools and catch pans on 3 different occasions. I change my diffs every 16k. T-case and trans are 32k. I did not realize the trans was 32k so I haven't changed mine yet and I'm about 5k over and need to do it.

Sent from my 2PYB2 using WAYALIFE mobile app

fiend

Caught the Bug
Plan a day and do them all at once. Just be sure to keep track of the fluids, as they are not the same and it would be bad to put the wrong fluid in, for example, your transmission.

Sent from my iPhone using WAYALIFE mobile app