4 3/4 inch backspacing with 35" tires & 2.5 " Lift?

sm31

I apologize for raising this topic again but I couldn't manage to find a specific answer for my setup. In my previous TJ build, I was careless with backspacing and just made sure I had more (less really?) than enough. But in keeping with Eddie's comments about keeping backspacing to a minimum, I really want to do it right this time.

I'm new to the JK world, and my project is a 2011 JKUR. I am planning on 2.5" of lift on 35" tires (overlanding focus). I am also planning to trim the stock fenders & pinch seams. With that in mind, can I make good use of 4.75" of backspace? Do I need less to keep from hitting things I can't (easily) eliminate? Is there an "ideal" backspace for this setup?

Thanks for the advice!!

Edit: This may need to go in the Wheels/Tires section but I listed here due to the specific nature of the vehicle.

Last edited:
F

Fionayeti

There's never any ideal set-up. But with 35's you won't need to trim the pinch seam.

As for rubbing when steering - that depends on the width of your tires and backspacing. I run 37's at 12.5 inches wide with 4.5 backspacing and never rub, anywhere. (Had to trim the pinch seam though)

So with 4.5 backspacing on a 12.5 wide tire you will probably be fine. Any wider of a tire, say 13 - 13.5" and you might rub the control arms at full lock or sooner. So you might want less backspacing for 13.5 " wide tires if you go that size.

As for rubbing your fenders, etc, If your lift has soft springs/shocks you may rub when articulating, stiffer springs/shocks, perhaps not. Just depends on the set-up.

sm31

Thank you everyone for the advice and replies!!

Sahara, your jeep looks amazing with the lower center of gravity, and 37's!

I'll go ahead and proceed as planned then. :beer:

notnalc68

That dude from Mississippi
4 3/4 inch backspacing with 35" tires & 2.5 " Lift?