15" or 17" wheels?

JethroJK

So since this whole Jeep world is new and it seems like a deep hole of info as I climb into all the do's and don'ts I have yet another question, 15 or 17 inch wheels?

I have read many forums but none really answer what I am looking for. So which is better for a 2012 JKUR manual tranny and is a daily driver with weekend wheeling?

Pros and cons??

bl17z90

I am pretty new to this too but from what i have picked up it seems like 15's were once the way to go and over the years the prefered rim size got bigger even to 16.5 at one time and now 17's seem to be the standard

JethroJK

I agree. From what I understand 15 was the standard rim size on the TJ. Now there are some people in 2010+ JKs running 15s with 33s or 35s. There are still some pros to this but cons too just trying to see if any of the people that have been doing this for awhile can provide some insight before I buy what I think I am going to buy.

StrizzyChris

with 15's you can find a ton of tires and they are cheaper to buy as well. BUT there are very few 15" wheels that will clear the brake calipers and some tie rods will be an issue as well. 17" wheels are becoming very popular for tire makers to develop around. lots of variety as well, but a little more expensive.

JethroJK

with 15's you can find a ton of tires and they are cheaper to buy as well. BUT there are very few 15" wheels that will clear the brake calipers and some tie rods will be an issue as well. 17" wheels are becoming very popular for tire makers to develop around. lots of variety as well, but a little more expensive.

Yes, from what I have read 2012 went with a larger brake caliper. I didn't think about tie rods. I have found a list that fit and your right, it is minimal. The Black Rock D Windows are listed and they are what I wanted in the 17. So no loss there. Just not sure if it is worth the change from a 17 to a 15. Seems like the market is 17 not 15.

gouacats