JK rear "no bumper" 3rd brake light option

GCM 2

Like more and more people lately, I run the "Zero Rear Bumper" look on my JK. I have been doing this for about 3 1/2 years now and have loved it since day 1. Along with the no rear bumper theme, I also choose to not run a rear tailgate or tire carrier, my spare tire is strapped down in the cargo area. With this minimalist approach to setting up a rig, I have some advantages (less weight, great rear views) and some disadvantages (open cabin, even with top and doors sealed). I live in Arizona, so the pre-runner style, open rear thing is not really a problem. Since my Jeep is a daily driver, what has been a long time problem for me is not having maximum brake lights for everyone else to see in traffic. So I finally found the time to do a $20 mod that gives me some safety margin back.

What you will need:
- 4 x Red LED 3/4 marker lights (any auto parts store)
- 1 X Plastic wire loom, 3 feet
- Drill
- Uni-bit or 3/4" drill bit
- 16ga wire
- wire connectors
- electrical tape

Here are the 3/4 red LED marker lights and wire loom

The area to be used is the rear frame cross member. You will be utilizing the holes that the trailer hitch would occupy

Next drill out the four existing holes in the crossmember to accommodate the LED marker lights

Once all the holes are drilled, insert the lights and prepare to strip the two wire ends of each light (one is a ground, the other is for power)

Using the existing factory third brake light wiring harness, I cut the factory connector off and then ran the wiring beneath the carpeting and down through the area where the factory jack is located.

I also used the factory body drain plugs located beneath the jack as the location to pass the factory third brake light wiring through to the underside of the jeep.

Simply use a razor knife to cut a small + or X in the rubber to maintain a snug fit and some waterproofness to the drain plug