Stock...can I make it work?

rich67

Caught the Bug
I am new to Jeeps, four-wheeling and the boards, so go easy on me..:thinking:
I have a stock JKU with the stock 17's. I am wanting to do some mild 4-wheeling, mainly sand pits and some old quarries here in FL, then eventually some trips out west. I have been to Moab and Sedona in my old 2wd Frontier, lost some fillings on some mild roads to viewpoints, but nothing crazy to warrant me scraping the underbelly of my old truck.
I'm on a severe budget, buying a new home currently, so splurging on a major lift,rims and tires, and trimmed fenders is way out of my budget. Is it possible to pull off some of these things in a stocker? I see all the nice rigs on here with 35's and 37's or more and 2"+ lifts. I don't plan on going crazy and rock crawling, but I would like to be able to pull off some milder trails in Moab (White Rim/ roads out in the Maze) and some trails in Sedona that don't require a serious lift or larger tires. Opinions? How about recovery? Winch/Hi lift? Just Hi lift? The Maze is pretty remote; I would think a winch is almost a necessity?
At best, I will most likely look into throwing a 1.5" lift with some 33's with some aggressive tread when I wear out my OEM tires.
Thanks in advance.

FrankenJeeper

You can get a budget boost at a fair price and trim your fenders for free. If definitely save for a winch. I have a hi-lift, and it's wonderful, but definitely doesn't replace a winch. You'll be surprised what a stock JK will do offroad. My advice is to drive it and decide what you need to modify based on your needs offroad.

2010 JKU Sport
1977 CJ5

Sent from my iPhone using WAYALIFE mobile app

RockyJk

^x2 trimmed fenders u can clear 35s couple people on the forum are running stock suspensions on 35s:thumbup:

rich67

Caught the Bug