Stock Rubicon Wheels & Tires

timb04086

A friend gave me some stock Rubicon wheels and tires (from a 2010) and I put them on my 2010 Sahara. I took the wheels and tires to Sears to have them balanced before putting them on my Jeep. Heading home yesterday I noticed the whole Jeep vibrates a little. Not the steering wheel though. Is this normal? I haven't been in a Rubicon yet to know if this is normal. I'm just curious if they need to be rebalanced or that this is normal with these type of tires. This is my first Jeep and I'm still learning things. The vibration doesn't start till around 60-65. It does it even at 70. Its not like a whole lot of vibration, but there is some vibration. Your guy's input is greatly appreciated. :D

wayoflife

Administrator
Staff member
Well, you are running mud terrain tires now and the voids between the lugs will be significantly wider than what you were running before. What you most likely are feeling is what some refer to as "lug thumping". Now, if you're feeling this more as a kind of "shimmy" as opposed to just a "buzzing", you may need to get your tires rebalanced. It isn't uncommon to need to get off road tires balanced more than once to get them on.

timb04086

Yeah, mines more of a shimmy. I'll head back to Sears and get them rebalanced. Thanks for the info! Greatly appreciated!

Sent from my SAMSUNG Galaxy S3 using WAYALIFE mobile app

jhires

Yeah, mines more of a shimmy. I'll head back to Sears and get them rebalanced. Thanks for the info! Greatly appreciated!

I think taking it to Sears may be part of the problem. If they try to sell you on rebuilding your front suspension, drive away and get a second opinion at a shop that specializes in tires and suspensions. I'll spare the details, but Sears does not have a good track record with members of my family and friends.

timb04086