Installing JKUR springs and shocks on a 2 door X

MTG

Caught the Bug
I am going to help a friend install some JKUR springs and rubicon shocks on his two door X. I understand that he should get around a 1 1/2" lift from doing this.

I am by no means a mechanic but, with Sharkey's help, we were able to install the EVO Enforcer kit on my jeep. But those had directions that we could follo...and I like to have direction. :cheesy:

I assume we can follow the same basic steps (e.g. lift the jeep, brace the frame, remove wheels, remove shocks, drop the axles, install new springs etc.), but what else will we need to do? Will there be a need for any other parts if we do this (e.g. will he be able to reuse the stock swaybar end links)?

Thanks!

Sharkey

Word Ninja
MTG - We are probably going to want to disconnect the brake frame brackets and the e-brake bracket. I would think there is plenty of slack for the brackets to be mounted back up when the install is complete, but to drop the axles low enough to pull the factory springs and put in the Rubi springs it should make our lives easier.

If you still have your take off front sway bar links we could certainly swap those in the front of the 2 door X. I don't think the rear will need new links, but I could be wrong.

MTG

Caught the Bug
MTG - We are probably going to want to disconnect the brake frame brackets and the e-brake bracket. I would think there is plenty of slack for the brackets to be mounted back up when the install is complete, but to drop the axles low enough to pull the factory springs and put in the Rubi springs it should make our lives easier.

Good idea. At least they should be a lot easier than mine were!

If you still have your take off front sway bar links we could certainly swap those in the front of the 2 door X. I don't think the rear will need new links, but I could be wrong.

I'm pretty sure I have them.

MTG

Caught the Bug
Follow up question