cb radio static

seanb123

So im new to the whole cb radio so bare with me but i installed one today. I am getting a lot of static i can pick up some guys being that i live close to a highway but its pretty staticy. Being that I dont have anyone to test it with my question is when im on the trails with the static become less with squelch

jeeeep

Hooked
which model CB did you install, which antenna are you using and can you post pics of your antenna mount?

seanb123

its a uniden 510 nothing special just basic setup with a Firestick. As im thinking i might have installed the antenna mount wrong. I have the spacer, bracket, stock carrier then washer then bolt. Im thinking i should move the bracket to the door right?

jeeeep

Hooked
its a uniden 510 nothing special just basic setup with a Firestick. As im thinking i might have installed the antenna mount wrong. I have the spacer, bracket, stock carrier then washer then bolt. Im thinking i should move the bracket to the door right?

having the antenna grounded is important - can you take a pic?

did you get a SWR meter with the CB?

depending on how you have your coax, here are a couple of ways the antenna coax should be put together, there was a post that also discussed CD install/ static:

ant-mount.jpg

AntennaMountInstructions-1.JPG

seanb123

ImageUploadedByWAYALIFE1375686809.179619.jpg ImageUploadedByWAYALIFE1375686825.768994.jpg ImageUploadedByWAYALIFE1375686837.718939.jpg

Here's what I got I'm thinking to move the bracket to the front? And the antenna and mount were all set up when I got them kinda just screwed in the antenna and called it a a day. No meter so I'm kinda winging it

jeeeep

Hooked
yes move the bracket to the front and make sure you have a good ground- you may have to add a separate ground cable to the bracket, you can test it after you move it, just run a ground wire to a bare portion of your bumper or somewhere close - if the static clears up you'll have your answer

seanb123