Oat coolant?

BBG

My jeep is drinking the hell out of this coolant where besides the dealer can I purchase this stuff from?

Sent from my SCH-I605 using WAYALIFE mobile app

MTG

Caught the Bug
^ Agreed. The reservoir tank on my 2012 has been close to dry before, but with the little I've added I wouldn't call it drinking the stuff.

How much are you going through?

Moochie

What's happening to the coolant? Have you had it back to the dealership to have it looked at?

BBG

Going in the morning. ...........I haven't put any in since I bought it. I've just been monitoring it, I'm on my second oil change and looked at it again and it's down at the min line. ..........

TheDuff

Well the minimum line of the overflow while cold doesn't mean there is a problem. The overflow will get filled or siphoned from by the cooling system based on coolant temp and vacuum. I'm not an expert, but I believe that when the coolant begins to get up to operating temp, some will get pushed into the the overflow as the system is pressurized. And as it cools down after driving some will get sucked back in. I know that if you overfill it, it will just get pushed out the over flow cap. So, try driving or idling till at operating temp and see what is in the bottle. Look around for leaks while it's running, if it's leaking and being burnt off by the heat of the engine components, you should be able to smell it.

Sent from my LG-D800 using WAYALIFE mobile app

BBG

Now that I thinking of it I did have that water pump issue. ...... Where it was making that whinny noise. Took it to the dealer and they fixed it maybe they did something funky to it and there's a zip tie around my over flow container definitely going to the dealer in the morning.

BBG

Because maybe someone else may have some insight on it overlanderjk that's why.

wayoflife

Administrator
Staff member