Question about 2.8 V6 carb...

Grumpiebill

I just purchased my 2nd Jeep ever last week it's a 1986 Comanche 2.8 V6 auto 2wd. When I was looking at buying it I drove around the block at not much speed. 25-30 mph. The seats weren't bolted down and no lights out back. Seemed to run good. Engine has been rebuilt by a Napa shop and sounds real good internally. But after negotiating a price and driving home it fell on its face at 30-35 mph. Thought was running out of gas. Got it to a station put $40 in it. Samething. Been tinkering with vacuum hoses and have noticed this is not a feedback carb. No t.p.s. And no metering solenoid. Did find a leaky coil wire but that repair didn't help either. Anyone have any experience with this carb? Engine just falls flat, wants to stall and pumping the throttle has no effect or worsens the condition and stalls...new here, I appreciate any help...

wayoflife

Administrator
Staff member
Sorry, I have no experience with the 2.8L V6. Are you sure the problem is with the carb?

Rccrwlr

Any thought to a fuel filter clog? Had an issue that when I was going faster and requiring more fuel the clog would suck up against the filter and block the gas. This is on a diff motor but sounds similar

Grumpiebill

Yes rccrwlr, that is a possibity. Will look into that. No, not 100% sure it's a fuel issue. Just strikes me as odd that this '86 doesn't have a feedback carb on it...

Grumpiebill

Sorry, I just realized I failed to add that the engine cranks for an exceptionally long time before it starts. Seems to indicate carb might be leaking down...is this common with Rochester r22se?

Grumpiebill