Gas overflow on 1998 tj

Jeepguy3

Hi, I'm a newbie here and I have a problem filling up my tj. It's a 1998 tj with a 4.0 I-6, 3.25 Suspension lift, 1.25 body lift, and it has a 20 gallon tank. When I fill the jeep up to full, the pump doesn't sense back pressure and shuts itself off. It keeps filling and it overflow out of the top of the gas tank toward the front of the jeep on driverside like a faucet open all the way. Does anybody know what could be the problem? Thanks guys and I appreciate the help.

pvanweelden

It's actually either a 15 gallon or a 19 gallon tank for a 97-99 tj.
I always had issues with the gas pump shutting off, the trick I found was pulling the nozzle out of the fill tube a little at a time until it stayed on. Not sure about it not shutting off on you :(

Sent from my SM-N900V using WAYALIFE mobile app

Jeepguy3

Oh ya that right, I forgot that. Mine is a 19 gallon. My problem is the opposite. The pump won't shut off and it keeps fill till it spray out of the top of the tank under the jeep. Has anybody ever had that problem?

Jiffy05

I wish I could help but I have the same problem as pvanweelden. It is such a pain to try and get gas anywhere with it.

Cbking

If it comes out of the top of the tank under the jeep it almost sounds like the filler neck is broken where it connect to the tank. My buddies tacoma had that issue so u just couldn't fill it all the way.

Woody3

My guess would be along the lines of Cbking. Maybe your filler hose has a crack or is loose?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk