When to use lockers

JKU EXTREME

Okay. So I am still new to offroading, never (really) offloaded so I'm not that savvy. So my questions are: When do you use your lockers? are they before you get to a difficult obstacle?, after the first attempt? And which ones do you use in different scenarios?
I appreciate y'all helping out.
Thanks
-John W.

finger3

I wheel fairly often and mainly use them only on very bad obstacles. If you use them with too much traction you could break an axle shaft not to mention without hydro boost in your steering the front being locked is near impossible to steer.

JKU EXTREME

I wheel fairly often and mainly use them only on very bad obstacles. If you use them with too much traction you could break an axle shaft not to mention without hydro boost in your steering the front being locked is near impossible to steer.

Wow... Didn't know that, thanks for the info.

Jersey_Devil

I'm the same way. Sometimes I'll give it a go unlocked first, then do just the rear and if I still can't get it, then I'll lock the front in also

Sent from my obama monitoring device

2trackin

I lock up when going through or over an obstacle I'm sure I'll need them. Otherwise I lock up when I lose traction and cannot continue onward without them. Of course it can be fun seeing how far you can go without them, mainly if you don't have other people following you to hold up.

Sent from my SCH-I545 using WAYALIFE mobile app

OverlanderJK

Resident Smartass
I never understood the whole "I try it unlocked and then lock if I can't do it" thing. You spent the money on lockers use them!

noroad

I never understood the whole "I try it unlocked and then lock if I can't do it" thing. You spent the money on lockers use them!

Ya but you will be suprised on what you can do unlocked and if your not in a hardcore spot going throw open might be a little more challenging for the drive(might even improve over all driver skill)!

OverlanderJK

Resident Smartass