5.13 Gear ?'s

bman198

Okay so I'm a college student, so that means I'm flat ass broke! I'm working this summer and I want to be able to run 35's by the end of summer. Problem is that in order to do so you have to (or at least it is recommended) that you re-gear. I currently have 33's with the stock gears. If and when I do upgrade I won't be able to afford both together. Will it hinder me at all to have 5.13's with 33's? I feel like it would be overkill. Thanks!

2013CGJKU

Holy cow! 5.13s on 33s would be ridiculous. Definitely do them in the other order if you can't afford them both at the same time.

Levi

2013 CG JKU 6-speed

Get tires first then gears. I really dont think you will even need 5.13's with 35's. I think most people would tell you that 4.88's are perfect with 35's. Expecially if you do alot of highway driving

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I537 using WAYALIFE mobile app

matt1171

5.13s are overkill with 35s. Plus I assume you have a sport or Sahara which means you have D30 front end and 5.13s give you a pretty small pinion gear that will be more prone to breaking. For 35s go with 4.88 with the 3.8L or 4.56 if you have the 3.6.

I have 4.88s and 35s and love it!!

bman198

Out of curiosity...
Assuming I have the right tools and such, how difficult would it be to do the work myself rather than taking it somewhere?

Sharkey

Word Ninja
With the 3.8 I would run 5.13's with 35's, especially if I planned on ever driving over mountain passes.

Otzy

Ah, sorry to tag along but reading this raised 2 more questions for me,

Like the OP said, is it something that he could do himself? or is that risky?

Also, for those of you that went up to 5.13's with 35's what kind of gas mileage are ya getting?

13_gecko_rubi

Caught the Bug
Which engine and which gears do you have now? If you have the 3.6L and you have 3.73s you may be fine for now. Ideal no, but ideal enough to save 1000-1500 on regear... Yes