Opinions on Tires

Damtall55

Noob needs help on tires. My JKU is my Daily Driver to and from work, about 40-45 miles round trip daily. I am going with 33's and was wondering if anyone had an opinion on these two tires: General Grabber AT2's and BF Goodrich KO AT's. I do light off-roading (blues) and snow in Western Pennsylvania on occasion when visiting family. I also like to surf fish, so sand is another ingredient. If you could help, I would sincerely appreciate it!! Thank you!!

Big Mike :idontknow:

wayoflife

Administrator
Staff member
I've run BFG AT's and they were good tires. For your purposes, I might recommend them. I have no personal experience with the Generals but, they look like a good tire too.

gouacats

Noob needs help on tires. My JKU is my Daily Driver to and from work, about 40-45 miles round trip daily. I am going with 33's and was wondering if anyone had an opinion on these two tires: General Grabber AT2's and BF Goodrich KO AT's. I do light off-roading (blues) and snow in Western Pennsylvania on occasion when visiting family. I also like to surf fish, so sand is another ingredient. If you could help, I would sincerely appreciate it!! Thank you!!

Big Mike :idontknow:

I've also run BFG ATs. They're quiet and they last forever. I've heard they do well in snow, but since I live in southern AZ, they never saw it. I've moved onto a more aggressive tread, but it certainly sounds like those would work for you. No experience with the Generals.

kaptkrappy

I have no experience with either brand, but looking at the sizes available, I also think the BFG's might be a better choice for you.

The 285/70/17 looks like it might be a better fit (if you stay with stock wheels) and better DD tire. It's a little narrower and weighs less.

BFG
View attachment 5583

General
View attachment 5584

Shaved Ice

The only Generals I have owned lasted only about 20,000 miles. BFG ATs have always given about double that. Something to consider.

TrailBear