Any HAM's out there? Advice needed

2rescue01

I am a fairly new licensed HAM radio operator, and am looking to purchase and mount a mobile radio in my Jeep. I am currently a Technician, but hope to upgrade to a General license very soon. Do you find 2-meter and 70-centimeter bands sufficient for off road use, or is HF better? Does anyone have any recommendations on a particular mobile radio? If so, why did you choose that radio, and where did you mount it? What if any concerns/advice do you have about mounting an antenna on a Jeep?

Some pics of where you mounted your mobile radio might be helpful too!

Thanks, and 73 to all!

KK6TJA

Kavanji

I can recommend the yaesu Ft 857d. but the icom ic 7000 is also good.
the 857 is a small Radio that can do hf, vhf and uhf so you are geared for everything.
usually v/uhf is sufficient but sometimes there are non hams on trails and then cb is used.
my 857 is freebanded so it can transmit everywhere I can receive so I can do CB as well.
this is not legal to do but you have to weigh the risks youself.
here are some pics of my install:

19509331xl.jpg

19509332qw.jpg

19509333vd.jpg

19509334qc.jpg

19509335pf.jpg

19509336pf.jpg

19509337wa.jpg

19509338wp.jpg

I have a dualband antenna on the AEV tyre carrier and still have to mount the hf antenna.
for hf I have a ATAS120A, wich is a auto tuning antenna with the 857.

73 de V51JP

titus7

Thank you for asking the question, I've been wandering the same thing. I don't have my ham radio license yet but I'm hoping to get it soon. If you have a ham radio do you need to have a cb radio as well? Do you guys know what are the best brands/models to get?

Sent from my SM-N900V using WAYALIFE mobile app

NAUJK