Battery warning light on dash?

mikefishes

OK A few times recently, my jeep has cut off and the radio has reset as if the battery was totally disconnected. On a few other occasions it has "clicked" a time or two before starting as if the battery was almost dead. 99.9% of the time, however, it runs fine. I checked and one of my cables was slightly loose. I tightened it up and all appeared solved.

Last night the little red battery warning light kicked on during my drive home. A quick scan thru the interwebs tells me that this can be either the alternator, the battery, or the voltage regulator(?). I am not very experienced with electrical issues, and I am wondering if someone can recommend a simple way to figure out where to start as I try to run this down. The jeep has approx 94,000 miles on it.

I don't own an electrical gauge but I am not averse to buying or borrowing one if needed. Thoughts?

jeeeep

Hooked
x2 take it to an auto parts store and they can test your alternator and battery. depending on the type battery you have, failed battery plate will also cause this.

mikefishes

UPDATE: While I am unable to leave work at the moment I was able to get an electrical meter from one of the maintenance guys here.

While the jeep is off the voltage across the terminals is 12.94 volts. While it is running the voltage shows as 14.06 and it was wavering as high as 14.21

Does this provide any sort of clue? And by "clue" I don't mean as to how clueless I am!

Thanks!

pvanweelden

The best thing I can tell you is to go get your alternator and voltage regulator checked out

Sent from my SM-N900V using WAYALIFE mobile app

mikefishes

The best thing I can tell you is to go get your alternator and voltage regulator checked out

Will do. I was thinking the "running" voltage was what the regulator was putting out. I'll hit a NAPA on the way home

pvanweelden