Colorado, cripple creek/Colorado Springs

MaxPower

The wife and I are planning a trip to Colorado Springs area staying in cripple creek September 6-11. I'm new to the whole off roading thing and since I have to drive my jeep daily I'm not quite ready to hit the trails hard and possible break something serious. I know it could happen anytime and that's fine just am not ready for the harder trails yet. That being said anyone have any known 1-4 out of 10 rating trails that would be fun to experience with some good scenic views? And do I need to register my jeep etc? If any wayalifers in the area need a few hours out on the trails and wouldnt mind showing us around a little that would be great! Thanks for any and all suggestions :)

t8er

There are some easier trails. I wouldn't be afraid of some of the 5's it's just knowing the obstacles. I think I'd be around to help out for a day just won't know until closer to then.

Rmorin222

Come down Old Stage road on the back side of Victor and there are some fun and easier trails. Check out Traildamage.com and look for El Paso county trails. Mt Baldy, Mt. Rosa, and Bull Park would be fun and close. Avoid Eagle Rock and Saran Wrap.

MaxPower

Great! I will check trail damage out for sure. And yeah if anyone wants to come out a day that would be great. Thanks for all the ideas. Keep them coming if anyone has any more.
What about the ohv permit. I've heard you need one for the jeep? True?

Colorado2003

I should be around at that time and would love to hit the trails. I never miss an opportunity to drive around. Stay in touch!

jmsuitter

Old stage is easy and a fun way to go up to cripple creek. Long since its on dirt but better then pavement and worth enjoying scenery. Been some time since I took that road in my younger years when I lived there. Just the mention of good old CO brings back the memories.

MaxPower