Mechanical locker in rear dana 44 jku

Green2012

Ok guys I have just installed an aussie locker and new 4.88 gears in my dana 44 rear. My rig is a 6 speed and I installed an aussie locker and left the front open because i don't have the funds for bigger axels right now . My question is this it is making the normal clicking and ratcheting noise but it has gained some unusual quirks such as when changing gears they are harder to shift and grinding occasionally which was not happening before the locker . Also there are some issues with other noises and loading up and chugging . I know my description doesn't make sense but its like learning to drive a stick again felling. The locker was installed by the instructions filler gauges were used tolerances and backlash within specs. I have had no prior experience with a mechanical locker so I am not sure if this is normal . It is a daily driver and it may be the locker just hates pavement like I do . Any input on what could be going on would be appreciated .

Utah_Jay

I cannot speak from direct experience.....but from what I have read the JK doesn't like mechanical lockers in the rear due to the BLD. From what I understand the locker will mess with the BLD causing the ESP to engage which could explain the "chugging" feeling. You could turn off the ESP and see if you notice an improvement. I am sure somebody with more experience will chime in here.

When you are straight the locker shouldn't be doing anything so I would look to the gears for adverse changes. When you are turning The locker will make noise and feel weird on the road. I ran them in an old K5 Blazer and didn't like it. I don't know about the JK but I can see where it could cause ESP issues.

wayoflife

Administrator
Staff member