Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15

Thread: New Pinion Bolt required?

  1. #1
    Nothing but a Thing M_Savage's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Location
    So Cal
    Posts
    1,474

    New Pinion Nut required?

    i am going to be replacing the front drive shaft on my 07 Sport Unlimited with a 1310. i previously did the same on my 09 however this was a Rubicon unlimited. when i replaced the yoke i needed a different size pinion nut because the stock nut wouldn't fit inside the 1310 yoke.

    is this going to be the same for my D30 front axle? if so what size pinion nut do i need?
    Last edited by M_Savage; 01-20-2017 at 11:46 PM.

  2. #2
    Nothing but a Thing NecessaryEvil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Location
    Illinois
    Posts
    1,090
    Bolt? I'm assuming you mean nut? And yes, I would got to the dealer and get a new nut to be put on. You could use the old one, but I would strongly recommend not reusing the pinion nut as its kind of a one time use item.


    Sent from my iPhone using WAYALIFE mobile app

  3. #3
    Nothing but a Thing M_Savage's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Location
    So Cal
    Posts
    1,474
    Quote Originally Posted by NecessaryEvil View Post
    Bolt? I'm assuming you mean nut? And yes, I would got to the dealer and get a new nut to be put on. You could use the old one, but I would strongly recommend not reusing the pinion nut as its kind of a one time use item.


    Sent from my iPhone using WAYALIFE mobile app
    you are correct. i did mean nut.

    but it shouldn't be a stock item would it? when i replaced the driveshaft on my Rubicon the pinion nut wouldn't fit inside the yoke to even thread onto the pinion. i didn't order the last one so i don't know what size was required.

  4. #4
    Hooked silversurfer575's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Location
    So Cal
    Posts
    152
    If you are replacing the yoke, shouldnt the supplier your buying the yoke from be able to answer this? I would guess they should be able to get you the nut that would fit within the yoke properly.

  5. #5
    Nothing but a Thing NecessaryEvil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Location
    Illinois
    Posts
    1,090
    Quote Originally Posted by M_Savage View Post
    you are correct. i did mean nut.

    but it shouldn't be a stock item would it? when i replaced the driveshaft on my Rubicon the pinion nut wouldn't fit inside the yoke to even thread onto the pinion. i didn't order the last one so i don't know what size was required.
    The threads should be the same because the pinion is not being changed. Even if you put in a new ring and pinion, it will have the same thread. The only reason a nut will not fit inside is if the nut has a larger skirt or washer attached. Either or could be removed. Take a picture of the nut and new yoke if you can and I could further assist.


    Sent from my iPhone using WAYALIFE mobile app

  6. #6
    Nothing but a Thing M_Savage's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Location
    So Cal
    Posts
    1,474
    Quote Originally Posted by silversurfer575 View Post
    If you are replacing the yoke, shouldnt the supplier your buying the yoke from be able to answer this? I would guess they should be able to get you the nut that would fit within the yoke properly.
    that would be great but i got the drive shaft used from another form member who doesn't have the nut.

    Quote Originally Posted by NecessaryEvil View Post
    The threads should be the same because the pinion is not being changed. Even if you put in a new ring and pinion, it will have the same thread. The only reason a nut will not fit inside is if the nut has a larger skirt or washer attached. Either or could be removed. Take a picture of the nut and new yoke if you can and I could further assist.

    Sent from my iPhone using WAYALIFE mobile app
    correct. this is a better explanation. its not the thread size but rather the skirt of the nut is too large to fit in the yoke. so it wouldn't even grab threats. trying to fit something into to small of a hole. hahah couldn't resist.
    I have not yet removed the nut from the pinion yet so i don't have pictures. i just remember last time i did this upgrade i needed a new nut, but i didn't order it so i don't know what nut was bought. I would just hate to get to this point and find out i cant install the driveshaft.

  7. #7
    Nothing but a Thing NecessaryEvil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Location
    Illinois
    Posts
    1,090
    Quote Originally Posted by M_Savage View Post
    that would be great but i got the drive shaft used from another form member who doesn't have the nut.



    correct. this is a better explanation. its not the thread size but rather the skirt of the nut is too large to fit in the yoke. so it wouldn't even grab threats. trying to fit something into to small of a hole. hahah couldn't resist.
    I have not yet removed the nut from the pinion yet so i don't have pictures. i just remember last time i did this upgrade i needed a new nut, but i didn't order it so i don't know what nut was bought. I would just hate to get to this point and find out i cant install the driveshaft.
    Then just get a new one from the dealer. It will fit the threads. Or contact the manufacturer of the driveshaft you bought.


    Sent from my iPhone using WAYALIFE mobile app

  8. #8
    Addict JKbrick's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Leo, Indiana
    Posts
    6,981
    Quote Originally Posted by M_Savage View Post
    you are correct. i did mean nut.

    but it shouldn't be a stock item would it? when i replaced the driveshaft on my Rubicon the pinion nut wouldn't fit inside the yoke to even thread onto the pinion. i didn't order the last one so i don't know what size was required.
    I just put 1310s on my 09 rubicon and the factory nuts fit right in the yokes


    Sent from my iPad using WAYALIFE mobile app

  9. #9
    Nothing but a Thing M_Savage's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Location
    So Cal
    Posts
    1,474
    Quote Originally Posted by NecessaryEvil View Post
    Then just get a new one from the dealer. It will fit the threads. Or contact the manufacturer of the driveshaft you bought.


    Sent from my iPhone using WAYALIFE mobile app
    Unfortunately I don't know the manufacture of it. And the member I got it from also got it used.

    Man this shaft is really getting passed around. Hahaha


    Sent from my iPhone using WAYALIFE mobile app

  10. #10
    Nothing but a Thing M_Savage's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Location
    So Cal
    Posts
    1,474
    Quote Originally Posted by JKbrick View Post
    I just put 1310s on my 09 rubicon and the factory nuts fit right in the yokes


    Sent from my iPad using WAYALIFE mobile app
    That's interesting. My old jeep was an 09 Rubicon and needed a new pinion nut. Guess I will find out when I go to install the yoke.


    Sent from my iPhone using WAYALIFE mobile app

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
About us
“wayoflife” is a moniker that I’ve been using for 20 years now and I chose it because I think it does a great job of explaining, in simple terms, the passion I have for Jeeps and the Jeep way of life. This is a lifestyle that transcends age, gender and race as the only thing you need to be a part of it is a love for the outdoors, a desire to explore, a yearning to take on a challenge and a will to conquer it. Over the years, Cindy and I have attempted to capture the essence of this lifestyle through photographs and videos and share it with others around the world. And, this is how WAYALIFE was born.
Join us
WATCH OUR VIDEOS