Death wobble

BrinksLJ

Hey guys! I'm new to wayalife and hoping to learn alot about the TJ. I recently sold my 98 XJ (first car) and purchased a 04 LJ. Now.. On my XJ I had a 4.5 in rough country lift. After installing I had death wobble. After spending about 1500 on new stearing/suspension components it was fixed. I do alot of traveling/exploring so DW was kinda putting a damper on things..

My question is does putting any height lift put you at risk of DW? From what I understand DW only comes with a lift and doesn't happen with stock suspension. So would a 2.5 in coil lift potentially cause DW? Or only higher lifts that require track bars ECT.

Sent from my SM-G935T using WAYALIFE mobile app

Death wobble can occur on stock vehicles with worn components as well when you start putting toys on your jeep it just multiplies the effect.

XJADDICTION

Banned

Good info here.

I've owned and built a bunch of XJ's and ZJ's and DW was always an issue. The JK appears
To be different, I haven't dealt with any DW yet and my JKURHR is a stock 2016 with 15,000 miles on it.

My observations so far;
- just like XJ; drag link, track bar need to be parallel
- caster needs to be corrected
- loose track bar (common DW problem on XJ) is initial check and cause
- OEM ball joints are weak, it appears. Even on the "HD" D-44 on the Rubicon. If you wheel at all you will stress them (even at stock height and wheel size) and it's a constant PM (get under there and keep an eye on front end) that will prevent problems here. Replace with better ball joints, also great recommendations on this site.
- balance of wheels and tires, and imop also relates to the quality of the tires and wheels you purchase after your lift. Plenty of recommendations for wheels and rubber on this site.
- looks like anything over 3"es requires steering correction with a flip.