Roof Rack Mounting Option.

rmilobrown

Hey Guys, I thought I would run this past the group before drilling into my hard top! My plan is to get a 60" x 54" Rhino rack for camping gear, Home Depot runs, NO roof top tents. My question is, what if I make my own mounts using hard rubber pucks on the raised ribs bolted through long metal strips from the inside. I would keep the pucks as low as possible just to clear the crown. I would use 6 to 9 mounts depending on the amount of flex in the rack. What do you think?

-AINOKEA-

Hooked
This style of roof rack always scared me with the hard top. I have zero experience and haven’t actually heard of any problems, but I would think that the hard top flexes ever to slightly. Not sure how the top would handle that with bolts and such going through. Also, if you’re not going through the top and bolting it to the c pillars, ALL of the weight will be on the hard top. Just my very inexperienced 2 cents.

Sent from my iPhone using WAYALIFE mobile app

fiend

Caught the Bug
I mounted a Yakima rack to my hard top. It’s got the cut-to-fit aluminum channels that you could mount to a pickup truck shell. I drilled through my top to mount it. I just put on the cross bars and cage when I need them. Otherwise it’s easily removed. It works well for large and bulky, but light, items. Like skis, bikes, camping gear, etc. I wouldn’t use it for anything heavy, like a roof top tent. Here’s a few pictures, with the cage on and removed. Sorry I don’t have anything better than these. IMG_2517.jpg IMG_0096.jpg

Last edited:

jdofmemi

Now that I like.

I'm looking for an option to put a rack on, either with the top, or without.

This would work for top on, and maybe some kind of brackets to the cage for top off use.

Same idea, camping gear, etc. I have even less room thanks to the tire in the back.

rmilobrown