Selec-Trac vs Roc-trac

8flat

Hi gents (and gals), newbie here. I did a search but am not finding this so forgive me if it's been discussed.

Looking at a new 2019 JLU, either Rubicon or Moab. Looks like a Moab can be optioned with the Selec-trac. We live in Montana, and have loved auto 4WD (in our pickups) for highway trips where we have intermittent dry pavement and then icy hills, etc.

BUT.......my 2011 ram 1500 transfer case is a pile of dung when stuck in snow or mud. T-case never truly locks into 4wd when set to "4wd lock", and I've owned it since new. So getting stuck is an infuriating sequence of the case banging in and out of 4wd as it engages and 1second later disengages the front driveshaft. Sounds like I'm doing neutral drops and it's 10seconds away from the entire drivetrain falling into the mud quivering like a dead chicken.

I do not want a jeep with this issue. Does the selec-trac case truly lock in, and stay locked, when shifted to "4wd part time"?? If not, I'm going with a rock-trac and skipping the Auto4wd feature.

Thanks!

Ddays

Hooked
Edited my response. I read too fast. I have no experience with the select-a trac although I do have an AWD system in my Durango that works great.
Still, I'd rather stick to the standard t-cases.

Last edited:

8flat

Edited my response. I read too fast. I have no experience with the select-a trac although I do have an AWD system in my Durango that works great.
Still, I'd rather stick to the standard t-cases.

I hear ya. My biggest concern with the the rubi's rock-trac is my wife forgetting to take it out of 4WD when the highway goes from icy to bare, and that's not good, haha.

Also, it doesn't look like the selec-trac (MP3022) can also be optioned with the lockers option?

Ddays

Hooked
I hear ya. My biggest concern with the the rubi's rock-trac is my wife forgetting to take it out of 4WD when the highway goes from icy to bare, and that's not good, haha.