Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Is this Dana Spicer 1310 Driveshaft too long?

Is this Dana Spicer 1310 Driveshaft too long?

It looks like this Dana Spicer 1310 driveshaft is too long to me but I'm not a mechanic. There is no compression left in the expansion joint and this pic is taken at ride height. I have a 4" lift and this driveshaft was sold as the right size for a 2 to 4" lift. I could not find a contact line for aftermarket parts support for Dana so I was hoping someone with more experience might point me in the right direction. Thanks!20190503_103848.jpg

Doesn't look right. I have several inches of spline showing at normal height. I believe the driveline gets shorter when the axle drops so your going to have problems.

Sent from my SM-G965U1 using WAYALIFE mobile app

Yes, that is way too long. There should be 3-4” of movement for up travel or you would damage you TC. Image1556904414.042491.jpg

That’s my 1350 front on a 4” lift with 4” of available compression.

I would remove that shaft prior to driving it and have it cut down. The best thing is to find a local shop and have them measure and cut the DS to the correct length for your Jeep.

Sent from my iPhone using WAYALIFE mobile app
    2015 JKU Rubicon AEV JK350
    1985 Jeep CJ8 Scrambler

Thanks for confirming. I guess that explains the problems I've been having with the transfer case. The linkage keeps popping off. I'll need to take it back to the rock shop that installed it and get them to shorten the drive shaft.

Quote Originally Posted by porter View Post
    Thanks for confirming. I guess that explains the problems I've been having with the transfer case. The linkage keeps popping off. I'll need to take it back to the rock shop that installed it and get them to shorten the drive shaft.
    If a shop installed that I wouldn't go back to them. They should have caught that and never installed it let alone have you drive off with it. I'd have then check for other damage as well.