Driver side door harness plug...

BlueRubicon

Caught the Bug
Have any of you had an issue with removing doors and than pins being bent on electrical connector after installing?
I saw on Wrangler forum a couple threads on it, but no real answers.
I took doors off back in May, and after installing, things didn't work. I took do dealer and they said some of pins were bent and wanted to charge me $194.00 to diagnose. I raised hell and spoke to GM and they bent pins back and got everything working for free.

Mind you, I am an electrician and have been dealing with plugs, connectors pins, etc for 30 years. I am pretty careful when plugging connectors in. I removed doors this past week and after putting back on yesterday...low and behold it is fucked again. After looking closely, I can see that female end is damaged from where a pin was bent last time. No fixing this time. Female end is on door harness side. Me thinks I need that harness. I probably don't have any choice but to have dealer deal with it(meaning order a harness for me.)
Has someone here had this same experience? If not...BEWARE...evidently those connectors are a problem. IMO a vehicle made for door removal should have plugs that are made for a little abuse.

19YJ94

Caught the Bug
I had some trouble with mine not wanting to plug in fully. So I just made sure they were clear of any dirt, then added some dielectric grease and have worked great since.

doubletapdaddy

Caught the Bug
I have seen somebody pulling the release lever without first pushing the small tab below it. Actually, that small tab can be very easy to miss. Do you think that this could be the issue?

BlueRubicon

Caught the Bug
I have seen somebody pulling the release lever without first pushing the small tab below it. Actually, that small tab can be very easy to miss. Do you think that this could be the issue?