Dynatrac Dynaloc Hub Rebuild

OverlanderJK

Resident Smartass
Dynatrac Dynaloc Hub Rebuild or Installation

IMG_0527.JPG

I am not a professional and have never taken these apart before. I searched and could not find anything online showing how this was done other than a couple bad videos. I reached out to a Dynatrac who was unable to provide directions to me so I was doing this blind. Overall it is fairly easy as long as you take your time. Install time while doing this write up and pictures was about 45 minutes. Should take 15-20 minutes if you know what you are doing.

Tools needed:

- Rubber Mallet
- Flat Head Screwdriver
- 5mm Allen Wrench
- 3/16” Allen Wrench
- Picks
- Dykes
- 2 5/8” Spindle Socket
- Torque Wrench
- Brake Cleaner
- Automotive Grease

You may need a breaker bar and will need tools to remove tires and brake caliper. Not included in the above.

Adjustments.jpg

Bare spindle with new ABS wire installed using a 5mm Allen wrench.
IMG_8646.JPG
IMG_8651.JPG

This photo shows the seal and the first bearing already installed in the hub as I did not need to remove them. Clean the tone rings if required and back of the hub.

IMG_8649.JPG

Insert second bearing. You will need to hold the hub up in place until the second bearing is installed. The hub will want to fall until that is inserted.

IMG_8654.JPG

Install first spindle nut and tighten to 50 ft lbs using spindle socket and torque wrench.

IMG_8655.JPG

Installed spindle nut “lock washer”, second spindle nut and torque to 70 ft lbs. after torque is applied fold over ear of “lock washer.”

IMG_8658.JPG
IMG_8661.JPG

Insert collar and plate. Make sure to push both pieces all the way in. It may be necessary to spin the hub while pushing to get these fully seated. The plate needs to be installed with the dimple facing in.

IMG_8662.JPG
IMG_8664.JPG
IMG_8666.JPG

Next install spring into locking hub piece. The larger of the two. (If anyone knows the name I will add that)

IMG_8667.JPG
IMG_8668.JPG